EERI Student Leadership Council (SLC)

Contact us:


2014 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition

The 2014 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition was held
in conjunction with the 11th U.S National Conference on Earthquake Engineering and the 66th EERI Annual Meeting on July 21-25 in Anchorage, Alaska.

Twenty-eight teams competed, including international teams.

The professionalism, hard work, and innovation of all students made this year's event a towering success.

The SLC would like to congratulate all participants of the 2014 competition!

We hope to see you all next year at the 2015 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition!

Many thanks to the generous sponsors of the 2014 SDC!

Sponsors 2013

2014 SDC Champions: University of Cluj-Napoca

Congratulations to the top three teams, who had the highest annual revenue, as determine by cost performance, oral presentation, poster, workmanship, and architectural design.

1st: University of California, Los Angeles
2nd: Oregon State University 3rd: Technical University of Cluj-Napoca

RankingTeam Name
1Technical University of Cluj-Napoca
2University of California, Berkeley
3California State University, Los Angeles

2014 SDC Results Summary:

Fourteen structures survived all three ground motions: 1940 El Centro, 1994 Northridge, and GM3 (Davis).

Ranking Team Name
1Technical University of Cluj-Napoca video
2University of California, Berkeley video
3California State University, Los Angeles video
4University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez video
5University of California, Davis video
6Georgia Institute of Technology video
7University of British Columbia video
8University of California, San Diego video
9Cornell University video
10University of Nebraska - Lincoln video
11California State University, San Diego video
12University of Michigan video
13California Polytechnical State University, Pomona video
14The University of Memphis video

The remaining structures survived El Centro and Northridge, but collapsed during GM3.

RankingTeam Name
15University of California, Los Angeles video
16Cal Poly San Luis Obispo video
17Stanford University video
18Rice University, Texas video
19University of Minnesota video
20Iowa State University video
21University of Massachusetts Amherst video
22University of Southern California video
23California State University, Long Beach video
24University of Boulder, Colorado video
25University of Buffalo video
26Oregon State University video
27 Purdue University video
28 University of Missouri-Columbia video

Additional Pictures can be found here: FACEBOOK LINK

The full results can be downloaded here: 2014 SDC Competition Scores (GM3 was used for purposes of only determining collapse/noncollapse criteria)

2014 SDC Special Awards:

Kinemetrics Award for the Spirit of the Competition:       University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Degenkolb Award for Structural Innovation:       California State Polytechnic Yniversity, Pomona

CSI Communication Award:       Technical University of Cluj-Napoca

FEMA SDC Competition Awards

1st place: Technical University of Cluj-Napoca

2nd place: University of California, Berkeley

3rd place: California State University, Los Angeles

T-Shirt Design Contest Winner

Technical University of Cluj-Napoca


Many thanks to the judges for the 2014 SDC!

Ian Buckle (University of Nevada, Reno, Professor, and EERI President),

Thalia Anagnos (San Jose State University, Professor, and EERI Past President),

Scott Brandenberg (University of California, Los Angeles, Associate Professor, SLC Advisor),

Stacy J. Bartoletti (Degenkolb, President and Chief Executive),

David Gonzalez (Degenkolb Engineers, Principal),

Roberto Leon (Virginia Tech, Professor),

Terri Norton (University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Associate Professor),

Joshua Steelman (University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Assistant Professor),

Ann Lemnitzer (University of California, Irvine, Assistant Professor),

Atif Habibullah (Computers & Structures, Inc),

Leonardo Massone (University of Chile, Santiago, Professor ),

Andreas Stavridis (University at Buffalo, State University of New York, Assistant Professor),

Janise Rodgers (Chief Operating Officer at GeoHazards International),

David Friedman (FORELL/ELSESSER Engineers),

Anna Birely (Texas A&M University, Assistant Professor),

Patricia Clayton (University of Texas at Austin, Assistant Professor),

John Hooper (Magnusson Klemencic Associates),


Home | Contact Us | ©2016 Earthquake Engineering Research Institute, SLC    Webpage maintained by Mohammad Farshchin and Bin Cai