EERI Student Leadership Council (SLC)

Contact us:


2016 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition

The 2016 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition was held in conjunction with the 2016 EERI Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California from April 5th to April 8th.

Thirty-three teams from all over the world competed. The SLC would like to thank all teams for their participation, and hopes to see you all again next year at the 2017 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition!

Many thanks to the generous sponsors of the 2016 SDC!

The SLC would also like to recognize the support of:

The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Center for Geotechnical Modeling at UC Davis for providing and maintaining the shake table . 

University of Memphis for providing the competition accelerometers. 

San Francisco State University for providing the competition's backup shake table.  

2016 SDC Champions: Technical University of Cluj - Napoca

RankTeam Name
1Technical University of Cluj-Napoca
2University of California, Berkeley
3Cornell University

2016 SDC Results Summary

Click HERE for videos and pictures of each team.

15 structures survived all three ground motions: 1940 El Centro, 1995 Kobe, and GM3 (Davis):

RankTeam Name Videos
1Technical University of Cluj-Napoca photo video
2University of California, Berkeley photo GM1 GM2 GM3
3Cornell University photo GM1 GM2 GM3
4University of Toronto photo GM1 GM2 GM3
5Antalya International University photo GM1 GM2 GM3
6University of Massachusetts Amherst photo GM1 GM2 GM3
7 Karadeniz Technical University photo GM1 GM2 GM3
8Purdue University photo GM1 GM2 GM3
9San Francisco State University photo GM1 GM2 GM3
10California State University, Long Beach photo GM1 GM2 GM3
11California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo photo GM1 GM2 GM3
12University of California, San Diego photo GM1 GM2 GM3
13University of British Columbia photo GM1 GM2 GM3
14University of Memphis photo GM1 GM2 GM3
15Technical University of Civil Engineering of Bucharest photo GM1 GM2 GM3

The following structures collapsed:

RankTeam Name Videos
16North Carolina State University photo GM1 GM2 GM3
17University of California, Los Angeles photo GM1 GM2 GM3
18Iowa State University photo GM1 GM2 GM3
19University of Minnesota photo GM1 GM2 GM3
20University of Colorado Boulder photo GM1 GM2 GM3
21University of Puerto Rico - Mayagüez photo video
22University of California, Irvine photo GM1 GM2 GM3
23University of Connecticut photo GM1 GM2 GM3
24California State University, Los Angeles photo GM1 GM2 GM3
25Stanford University photo GM1 GM2 GM3
26University of Southern California photo GM1 GM2 GM3
27 California State Polytechnic University, Pomona photo GM1 GM2 GM3
28California State University, Sacramento photo GM1 GM2 GM3
29University at Buffalo (SUNY) photo GM1 GM2 GM3
30Rice University photo GM1 GM2 GM3
31University of Nevada, Reno photo GM1 GM2 GM3
32Universiti Teknologi Malaysia photo GM1 GM2 GM3
IEUniversity of Texas at Austin photo      

The full results can be downloaded here: Results

2016 SDC Special Awards

Kinemetrics Award for the Spirit of the Competition:
Stanford University
University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez

Architecture Award:
Antalya International University
Technical University of Cluj-Napoca

Best Seismic Performance Award:
California State University, Long Beach

Degenkolb Award for Structural Innovation:
University of California, Berkeley

CSI Communication Award:
Technical University of Cluj-Napoca

T-Shirt Design Contest Winner:
North Carolina State University

FEMA SDC Competition Awards:

RankTeam Name
1Technical University of Cluj-Napoca
2University of California, Berkeley  
3Cornell University

Design Proposal Results
Here are the top nine teams for the design proposal:

RankTeam Name
1Stanford University
2North Carolina State University
3San Francisco State University
4University of British Columbia
5University of Toronto
6University of Colorado Boulder
7University of Massachusetts Amherst
8Iowa State University
9University of California, Berkeley

Many thanks to the judges for the 2016 SDC!

Christopher Putman (Holmes Culley)

Terri Norton (University of Nebraska - Lincoln)

Alissa Beck (Werner Sobek Stuttgart GmbH)

Brent Maxfield (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter - day Saints)

Ibbi Almufti (ARUP)

Cale Ash (Degenkolb Engineers)

Maryam Tabbakhha (University of California, Berkeley)

David Friedman (Forell/Elsesser Engineers, Inc.)

Forrest Lanning (Miyamoto International, Inc.)

John Worley (ARUP)

Angel Pérez-Irizarry (University of Wisconsin - Madison)

Ammar Motorwala (Virginia Tech)

Eduardo Fierro (BFP Engineers, Inc.)

Cynthia Perry (BFP Engineers, Inc.)

David Cocke (Structural Focus)

Erica Fischer (Degenkolb Engineers)

Marko Schotanus (Rutherford + Chekene)

Tea Visnjic (Exponent)

Terry Lundeen (Coughlin Porter Lundeen, Inc.)

Alexandria Julius (AIR Worldwide)

Chung-Soo Doo (Bay Area Rapid Transit)

Zahraa Saiyed (LEED AP BD + C)

David Wald (U.S. Geological Survey)

Mark Petersen (USGS)

Dominik Lang (NORSAR)

Maria Mohammed (Structural Focus)

Josia Rastandi (PT. Rekatama Konstruksindo)

Fabian Cevallos-Larco (Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Ecuador)

Guillermo Diaz-Fanas (Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers)

Ashraf Habibullah (Computers and Structures, Inc.)

Additional information can be found on our Facebook page

Home | Contact Us | ©2016 Earthquake Engineering Research Institute, SLC    Webpage maintained by Mohammad Farshchin and Bin Cai