2014 Seismic Design Competition

The 2014 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition was held
in conjunction with the 11th U.S National Conference on Earthquake Engineering and the 66th EERI Annual Meeting on July 21-25 in Anchorage, Alaska.

Twenty-eight teams competed, including international teams.
The professionalism, hard work, and innovation of all students made this year’s event a towering success.
The SLC would like to congratulate all participants of the 2014 competition! 

We hope to see you all next year at the 2015 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition!

Many thanks to the generous sponsors of the 2014 SDC!

2014 SDC Champions: University of Cluj-Napoca

Congratulations to the top three teams, who had the highest annual revenue, as determine by cost performance, oral presentation, poster, workmanship, and architectural design.

Ranking Team Name
1 Technical University of Cluj-Napoca
2 University of California, Berkeley
3 California State University, Los Angeles

2014 SDC Results Summary:

Fourteen structures survived all three ground motions: 1940 El Centro, 1994 Northridge, and GM3 (Davis).

Ranking Team Name
1 Technical University of Cluj-Napoca video
2 University of California, Berkeley video
3 California State University, Los Angeles video
4 University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez video
5 University of California, Davis video
6 Georgia Institute of Technology video
7 University of British Columbia video
8 University of California, San Diego video
9 Cornell University video
10 University of Nebraska – Lincoln video
11 California State University, San Diego video
12 University of Michigan video
13 California Polytechnical State University, Pomona video
14 The University of Memphis video

The remaining structures survived El Centro and Northridge, but collapsed during GM3.

Ranking Team Name
15 University of California, Los Angeles video
16 Cal Poly San Luis Obispo video
17 Stanford University video
18 Rice University, Texas video
19 University of Minnesota video
20 Iowa State University video
21 University of Massachusetts Amherst video
22 University of Southern California video
23 California State University, Long Beach video
24 University of Boulder, Colorado video
25 University of Buffalo video
26 Oregon State University video
27 Purdue University video
28 University of Missouri-Columbia video

Additional Pictures can be found here: FACEBOOK LINK

The full results can be downloaded here: 2014 SDC Competition Scores (GM3 was used for purposes of only determining collapse/noncollapse criteria)

2014 SDC Special Awards:

Kinemetrics Award for the Spirit of the Competition:       University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Degenkolb Award for Structural Innovation:       California State Polytechnic Yniversity, Pomona

CSI Communication Award:       Technical University of Cluj-Napoca

FEMA SDC Competition Awards
1st place: Technical University of Cluj-Napoca
2nd place: University of California, Berkeley
3rd place: California State University, Los Angeles

T-Shirt Design Contest Winner
Technical University of Cluj-Napoca

Many thanks to the judges for the 2014 SDC!

Ian Buckle (University of Nevada, Reno, Professor, and EERI President),

Thalia Anagnos (San Jose State University, Professor, and EERI Past President),

Scott Brandenberg (University of California, Los Angeles, Associate Professor, SLC Advisor),

Stacy J. Bartoletti (Degenkolb, President and Chief Executive),

David Gonzalez (Degenkolb Engineers, Principal),

Roberto Leon (Virginia Tech, Professor),

Terri Norton (University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Associate Professor),

Joshua Steelman (University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Assistant Professor),

Ann Lemnitzer (University of California, Irvine, Assistant Professor),

Atif Habibullah (Computers & Structures, Inc),

Leonardo Massone (University of Chile, Santiago, Professor ),

Andreas Stavridis (University at Buffalo, State University of New York, Assistant Professor),

Janise Rodgers (Chief Operating Officer at GeoHazards International),

David Friedman (FORELL/ELSESSER Engineers),

Anna Birely (Texas A&M University, Assistant Professor),

Patricia Clayton (University of Texas at Austin, Assistant Professor),

John Hooper (Magnusson Klemencic Associates),