2011 Seismic Design Competition

The 2011 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition was held
in conjunction with the 63rd EERI Annual Meeting on February 10-12
at the Hyatt Regency La Jolla in San Diego, California.

Twenty-eight teams competed, including three international teams.
The professionalism, hard work, and innovation of all students made this year’s event a towering success. The SLC would like to congratulate all participants of the 2011 competition!

We hope to see you in Tennessee year at the 2012 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition!

2011 SDC Champions: Oregon State University

Congratulations to the top three teams, who had the highest annual revenue, as determine by cost performance, oral presentation, poster, workmanship, and architectural design.


Ranking Team Name Prize
1 Oregon State University $500
2 California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo $300
3 University of Illinois Urbana Champaign $200

Thirteen judges scored the presentation and architectural appeal of the structures: Thalia Anagnos (San Francisco State University), Jack Baker (Stanford University), Jay Berger (EERI), Svetlana Brzev (British Columbia Institute of Technology), Heidi Faison (PEER), Jon Keech (Digitexx), Anne Lemnitzer (CSU Fullerton), Bret Lizundia (Rutherford and Chekene), Mark Mahoney (FEMA), Farzad Naeim (John A. Martin), Chris Poland (Degenkolb), Lisa Star (UCLA), and Andreas Stavridis (UCSD).

2011 SDC Results Summary:

Sixteen structures survived all three ground motions: 1940 El Centro, 1994 Northridge, and GM3 (Davis).

Ranking Team Name
1 Oregon State University photo video
2 California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo photo video
3 University of Illinois Urbana Champaign photo video
4 University of Southern California photo video
5 California Polytechnic University, Pomona photo video
6 Brigham Young University photo video
7 Penn State University photo video
8 UC Davis photo video
9 San Jose State University photo video
10 University of Texas, Austin photo video
11 UC San Diego photo video
12 California State University, Fullerton photo video
13 UC Irvine photo video
14 UC Berkeley photo video
15 California State University, Los Angeles photo video
16 Technical University Cluj-Napoca, Romania photo video

The remaining structures survived El Centro and Northridge, but collapsed during GM3.

Ranking Team Name
17 University of Nebraska-Lincoln photo video
18 Johns Hopkins University photo video
19 University of British Columbia photo video
20 Roger Williams University photo video
21 Purdue University photo video
22 Georgia Institute of Technology photo video
23 San Francisco State University photo video
24 University of Missouri photo video
25 UC Los Angeles photo video
26 University at Buffalo photo video
27 Universiti Teknologi Malaysia photo video
28 University of Massachusetts Amherst photo video


The full results can be downloaded here: 2011 SDC Competition Scores
The judge score summary can be downloaded here: 2011 SDC Judge Results
Predicted/actual structural responses can be downloaded here: 2011 SDC Predicted/Actual


2011 SDC Special Awards: 

Charles Richter Award for the Spirit of the Competition:       UC Davis 

The most well known earthquake magnitude scale is the Richter scale which was developed in 1935 by Charles Richter, of the California Institute of Technology. In honor of his contribution to earthquake engineering, the team which best exemplifies the spirit of the competition is awarded the Charles Richter Award for the Spirit of Competition.

Honorable Mention Nominees: Penn State University, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia 

Egor Popov Award for Structural Innovation: Technical University Cluj-Napoca, Romania 

Egor Popov had been a Professor at the University of California, Berkeley for almost 55 years before he passed away in 2001. Popov conducted research that led to many advances in seismic design of steel frame connections and systems, including eccentric bracing. In honor of his contribution to structural and earthquake engineering, the team which makes the best use of technology and/or structural design to resist seismic loading is awarded the Egor Popov Award for Structural Innovation.

Honorable Mention Nominee: UC Davis

Fazlur Khan Award for Architectural Design: San Jose State University 

As a Structural Engineer Fazlur Khan played a central role behind the “Second Chicago School” of Architecture in the 1960’s and is regarded as the “Father of tubular design for high-rise buildings”. In honor of his contribution to Structural Engineering and Architecture Design of high-rise buildings, the team whose building provides a remarkable expression of architecture design and inherently integrates a sound structural design will be awarded the Fazlur Khan Award for Architectural Design.

Honorable Mention Nominees: Brigham Young University, California Polytechnic University, Pomona

Many thanks to the generous sponsors of the 2011 SDC!.

2011 SDC Announcement

2011 SDC Schedule

2011 SDC Shipping Info

2011 Competition Rules – Main

2011 Competition Rules – Appendix

2011 Competition – Ground Motion

2011 Competition – flyer

If you have any questions regarding the competition, please visit our FAQ page: https://slc.eeri.org/seismicfaq.htm.

For more information regarding team registration, please visit: https://slc.eeri.org/seismicinfo.htm.

If you any other inquires, please feel free to contact: seismic.design.competition@gmail.com.

Archive from last 2 year’s competitions :

2010 Competition Results (old)

2010 Competition Rules – Main (old)

2010 Competition Rules – Appendix (old)

2010 Ground Motions (old)

2009 Annual Undergraduate Competition Results (old)

2009 Competition Rules (old)

2009 Ground Motions (old)

2010 Seismic Design Competition, San Francisco, CA

2008 Seismic Design Competition, New Orleans, LA

2009 Seismic Design Competition, Salt Lake City, UT